Skip to content

Our Little Urban Arboretum – Summer Is Over – October 10, 2015

October 11, 2015

Finally summer is over, the hormones are getting really active causing the leaves to turn colors and then fall. Last week I hired a local gentleman to cut down all the butterfly bushes except a couple that were still blooming. It’s time for the butterflies to wrap themselves up. There is a humongous pile of branches for the recyclers. Birds have not been shy about planting the butterfly bushes. Birds planted all 15+ bushes in my front yard. I hope the monarchs and other butterflies overwintering here find a protected place. My backyard is nice

The green ash trees are turning yellow, the white ashes are turning red (I am dreading the emerald ash borer coming to St Louis), even the Bradford pears are turning a dark red. All the colors seem to be muted, we need some sunny days! Perhaps tomorrow!

Weatherwise, we had warm days and cold nights which should have led to good color, but the dogwoods have seemed a little bit dull. Even the poison ivy which changes to a vibrant red typically I have barely noticed. My aromatic sumacs, and others along the highways, seem slow starting to color. Usually middle of October is a highlight of autumn color, but every year is different.

Pictures coming

Charlotte E. Schneider, Certified Arborist since 1998, Missouri Forester over 35 years

Master Gardener MBG, Author Female Forester Forever

One Comment
  1. My daughter and I were out early this morning, noting how autumn colors were just coming on. You’re right, it seems a little late.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.